top of page
  • Writer's picturenbooker

Rangers Apprentice: The Best Medieval Series Ever

Updated: Mar 30, 2020

Rangers Apprentice is an amazing series that is quite possibly my favourite book series. It is based in the medieval land of Araluen and is about an orphan boy named Will.

Will is selected to join a mysterious apprentice group known as the Rangers of Araluen. The Ranger Corp are the intelligence agency of this medieval land. They are renowned as amazing archers and protect the kingdom from terrible fates. They are close-knit and secretive group and Will is mentored by a legendary figure named Halt.

Rangers apprentice john flanagan  book review bookers book

There are 12 books in the Rangers Apprentice series and there are 2 prequels set before Will's time. There are also some additional book series about different characters and races including the Brotherband Series and the Royal Ranger Series. The books are probably suited for 9 to 14-year-olds. It is a great series and everyone should read it. In fact, both my parents have read these, and they are often what we choose to listen on family road trips when we need an audiobook to listen to.

From the original series, my favourite book is "The Emperor of Nihon-Ja" which is Book 10. This book is set in the neighbouring kingdom of Nihon-Ja who are loosely based on the Japanese people. A rebellion occurs against the Emperor who is forced to flee for his life, seeking the protection of the Ran-Koshi fortress and the Ranger Corp of Araluen.

The books all feature mystery, action, danger, fighting and a touch of superstition and magic.

Stay Tuned for more.


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page